Alumni Stay in Touch button


Cal Poly CLA News

The latest online edition of CLA's Impact Magazine

CLA Students End Year with National and International Recognitions

College of Liberal Arts students participated in a range of conferences, contests and tournaments, bringing home nearly 100 state, national and international awards during the 2013-14 academic year.

A snapshot of this year’s award recipients:

Juana Villa

2013 California State University Trustees’ Award for Outstanding Achievement
Juana Villa (Graphic Communication)

Read more

2014 President’s Diversity Award - Student
Caroline Tambling (Psychology)

Applied Arts Magazine Award
Kevin DeBoer (Art & Design)


Best Concept, Design, Research and Execution (First Place), Phoenix Challenge Flexo Packaging Competition
Natalee Consulo, Mariah Linnett, Giulianna Riso, Lena Haidar, Mishay Murfield, Meredith Stewart and Connor Foltyn-Smith (Graphic Communication)

Read more

Phoenix Challenge-winning team


Joi SullivanCal Poly ASI President
Joi Sullivan (Political Science)

 Read More

Billy Watson Memorial Award, San Luis Obispo Rotary Club 
Shaina Levin and Mark Mendez (Music)

First Place - Journalism, Entertainment Industry Council’s Generation Next Competition 
Kyle McCarty (Journalism)

Read More


First Place - Adult Marching Band, Southwest Airlines Chinese New Year Parade 
Mustang Band

Read More


Freestyle Demonstrator Award, 2014 Large-Area, Organic & Printed Electronics Convention 
Stephanie Friend (Liberal Arts & Engineering Studies), Karli Sherer (Graphic Communication), Ginny Yan (Graphic Communication), Logan Spittler (Graphic Communication), Greg Bergdoll (Electrical Engineering), Zoey Le (Business), 
Errol Leon (Electrical Engineering), Grace Luo (Polymers & Coating Science), Joe Mazzanti (Electrical Engineering), Ryan Moelter (Computer Engineering), Benny Ng (Electrical Engineering) and Haleigh Vierra (Electrical Engineering)

Read More


Mariah Cochiolo

Scholar Athlete of the Year, Big West Conference 
Mariah Cochiolo - Softball (Graphic Communication)

First Place - Professional Digitally Displayed Cartographic Award Competition, California Geographical Society 
Troy Lawson (Anthropology and Geography)

Read More

Mark Twain Award - Student TV Best General News, Associated Press Television and Radio Association 
Ed Zuchelli and Lindsay MacLeod (Journalism)

Read More

Meritorious Achievement Award, Kennedy Center American College Theatre Festival
Ian Billings and Cadence Mitchell (Theatre Arts)


Cal Poly Debate Team

Finalist, UC Davis and University of Miami Tournaments
Debate Champion, Loyola Marymount Debate Invitational, Hawaii Cup, and University of Hawaii’s Pan-Pacific Universities Debate Tournaments

Read More

Cal Poly Debate Team

Mustang News won multiple awards in 2014

Mustang News

College Newspaper Business and Advertising Managers Convention
Fellowship Winner 
Nikole Knak (Graphic Communication)

First Place - Annual Saturday Morning Sell-Off Competition 
Rachael Burnham (Journalism)

Marketing/Public Relations Manager of the Year 
Taylor Riley (Communication Studies)

Second Place - Designer of the Year 

Albert Chang (Art & Design)

Third Place - Advertising Sales Representative of the Year 
Rachael Burnham (Journalism)

Read More


Related Content