Faculty Diversity Committee

Mission

The CLA Faculty Diversity Committee is a standing committee focused on diversity efforts and initiatives in the college. Serving as an advisory body to the Dean, the committee will develop diversity related goals, strategies for achieving those goals, and methods for measuring progress. Specifically, the committee has the following initial goals:

  1. Work to attract, cultivate, and nurture individuals who are invested in devoting critical and scholarly attention to different identities and communities specific to their disciplines;
  2. Offer more college-supported opportunities for diversity-related education, training, and recognition;
  3. Provide more explicit institutionalized value for a variety of diversity-related efforts and knowledge.

Membership

The CLA Faculty Diversity Committee will consist of approximately 10-12 tenured and/or tenure-track faculty. Members will serve two-year terms with options to renew each fall quarter. Nominations for new members will be solicited from existing committee members and other faculty who are leaders in areas of diversity. Nominees will then be recommended to the Dean. The committee will be co-chaired by the Associate Dean of Diversity and Curriculum, and a faculty member elected by the committee.

Photo Member Department Contact
Jennifer Pedrotti

Jennifer Teramoto Pedrotti (Chair, CLA)

Assoc. Dean for Diversity and Curriculum, CLA

jpedrott@calpoly.edu

Dawn Neill Dawn Neill (Chair, Faculty) Assoc. Professor, Social Sciences

dbneill@calpoly.edu

Ryan Alaniz Ryan Alaniz Assoc. Professor, Social Sciences

ralaniz@calpoly.edu

Reggie Allen

Regulus Allen

Assoc. Professor, English

rlallen@calpoly.edu

Christina Firpo Christina Firpo Assoc. Professor, History

cfirpo@calpoly.edu

Denise Isom Denise Isom Professor, Ethnic Studies

disom@calpoly.edu

Carrie Langner Carrie Langner

Assoc. Professor, Psychology and Child Development

clangner@calpoly.edu

Silvia Marijuan Silvia Marijuan

Asst. Professor, Modern Languages and Literature

smarijua@calpoly.edu

Jenell Navarro Jenell Navarro Asst. Professor, Ethnic Studies

jnavar18@calpoly.edu

Unique Shaw Unique Shaw-Smith Asst. Professor, Social Sciences

ushawsmi@calpoly.edu

Tom Trice Tom Trice Assoc. Professor, History

ttrice@calpoly.edu

Grace Yeh Grace Yeh Assoc. Professor, Ethnic Studies

gyeh@calpoly.edu

Shanruo Ning Zhang Shanruo Ning Zhang Assoc. Professor, Political Science

nizhang@calpoly.edu

 

Related Content