Cal Poly CLA News

The latest online edition of CLA's Impact Magazine

CLA Underrepresented Students Network


To assist underrepresented students in having an equitable educational experience as a part of the Cal Poly campus. 


The College of Liberal Arts Underrepresented Students Network (CLA USN) is a peer mentoring program for underrepresented students in our college. Mentors can meet informally with mentees to provide support and resources on Cal Poly’s campus. USN is not a counseling service, but a place to talk with peers who can identify with the experiences of other underrepresented students. Please see the list of mentors below, and click the button to sign up to be matched!


Get the Latest CLA USN News

Subscribe to our Newsletter!

* indicates required


Bili ChavezBili Chavez

Pronouns: They/Them/él

Major: English with a double minor in Spanish and MAST .
Hobbies: I like writing, listening to music, hanging out with friends, and watching my favorite comfort shows over and over again. 
Fun Facts: My favorite seasons of the year are fall and winter even though I was born in the spring. 


Erika BocanegraAries Bocanegra 

Pronouns: They/Them/Theirs

Major: Psychology
Hobbies: I love to read and write, thrift, go to concerts, and discover new music. I have recently gotten into surfing, so you could probably find me at Pismo Beach trying to catch a wave!
Fun Facts: I am Filipino and Mexican, and second-generation!


Evan Fong TojiEvan Fong Toji

Pronouns: He/Him/His

Major: Art and Design: Graphic Design
Hobbies: Surfing, Photography, Cooking and Playing Guitar
Fun Facts: I love listening and sharing new music and for me Sunday night is the best night of the week because of my Spotify Discover Weekly playlist.



Juliana Catalan

Juliana Catalan

Pronouns: She/Her/Hers

Major: History
Hobbies: Running and reading!
Fun Facts: I met the author of the Diary of a Wimpy Kid (Jeff Kinney) in fourth grade!




Jasmine LeeJasmine Lee

Pronouns: She/Her/Hers

Major: Graphic Communication
Hobbies: I like to bake, swim, read, write and find new things to do with my friends.
Fun Fact: I am from and have lived my whole life in the 626 area.




Marlen ReyesMarlen Reyes

Pronouns: She/Her/Hers

Major: Sociology with a concentration in social services and a minor in child development
Fun Facts: I have five siblings and I have a twin sister who is also attending Cal Poly!



Mason BoergerMason Boerger

Pronouns: He/Him/His

Major: Communication studies major with a minor in sales
Hobbies: Sports of all kinds, weightlifting, playing guitar, and music analysis.  
Fun Facts: I am African American and White, first-generation college student, work full-time, and genuinely enjoy optimizing class schedules.  


Michelle ParsonsMichelle Parsons

Pronouns: She/Her/Hers

Major: Philosophy with a minor in Pre-Law.
Hobbies: Cooking, practicing yoga, writing, and trying new foods.





Tori GordonTori Gordon

Pronouns: She/Her/Hers

Major: Journalism
Hobbies: I love to play tennis, thrift, eat ramen, listen to music and watch pretty sunsets with my friends.
Fun Facts: I am a second-generation Filipino-American college student from the central coast!



Jessica Misaki MasonJessica Misaki Mason

Pronouns: She/Her/Hers

Major: Liberal Arts and Engineering Studies: Computer Science and Psychology
Hobbies: I like playing in the J-Rock band "Genkey" on campus, reading, looking at capybaras and drinking hojicha.
Fun Facts: I'm a year younger than my classmates because I skipped first grade while living abroad in Shanghai China.



Araceli Mendoza

Araceli Jeannette Mendoza

Pronouns: She/Her/Hers

Major: Interdisciplinary Studies with minors in Spanish and Sociology
Hobbies: Binge watching shows, listening to music, playing video games with my niece, sleeping and collecting the world's smallest items.
Fun Facts: Three of my sisters are teachers. Growing up I wanted to work at Target and not go to college.



Deanna Nguyễn

Deanna Nguyen

Pronouns: Any

Major: Art and Design with a concentration in Graphic Design and double minor in Computing for the Interactive Arts and Ethnic Studies
Hobbies: I enjoy dancing, experimenting with makeup, collecting trinkets and making Spotify playlists that are way too long.
Fun Facts: I dance with K2 and UM here at Cal Poly and I dye my own hair!



Izzy PascuaIzzy Pascua

Pronouns: She/Her/Hers

Major: Graphic Communication with a concentration in UX/UI and a minor in media arts, society, and technology
Hobbies: Photography, reading, crocheting (just started on this one), fashion and playing music!
Fun Facts: I am Filipino, and I have four tattoos! Hoping to get my fifth soon.



Brian PriceBrian Price

Pronouns: He/Him/His

Major: History with a minor in theatre
Hobbies: Trading card games, reading and traveling.
Fun Facts: I am a local to SLO County and have been able to explore most of the different towns and am currently prepping for a large regional tournament for some of my card games.



Cristian Ulisses ReyesCristian Ulisses Reyes

Pronouns: He/Him/Él

Major: Child Development with minors in ethnic studies, equity in education, and queer studies
Hobbies: My hobbies include listening to music (Omar Apollo, Kali Uchis, SZA, and Steve Lacy on a cycle), traveling, watching Marvel movies/shows, and doing self-care activities with my friends.
Fun Facts: I switched majors from biology to child development. I am also a first-generation student from the Central Valley.


Jessica RodriguezJessica Rodriguez

Pronouns: She/Her/Hers

Major: Child Development with a minor in Studio Art
Hobbies: I enjoy drawing, painting, thrifting, listening to music and reading books. 
Fun Facts: I am a Mexican American and first generation to attend a university!



Ells McCone Jackson Taylor

Ells McCone Jackson Taylor

Pronouns: He/Him

Major: Political Science
Hobbies: Being an audiophile, longboarding, gaming and reading.
Fun Facts: My music library has over 1,000 albums and would take 1 month to listen to in its entirety without stopping.



Sunny Wakeman

Sunny Wakeman

Pronouns: She/Her/Hers

Major: Communication Studies
Hobbies: I love going to the beach, rock climbing, finding new places to eat and listening to all kinds of music!
Fun Facts: I want to travel around the world and someday live in a different country when I'm older.



Related Content