The latest online edition of CLA's Impact Magazine

Cal Poly Team Wins Grand Prize at TAGA

A team of students from Cal Poly’s Graphic Design Department won the Grand Prize Award at the Technical Association of Graphic Arts (TAGA) Annual Technical Conference held March 19 – 22 in Houston.

Cal Poly Wins TAGA Grand Prize 2017
TAGA winning team from left to right: Peter Schlosser (Advisor), Alan Nguyen,
Mayra Mejia, Jacqueline Luis, Amanda Ornelas, Molly McCarthy,
and Jasper Lim. Photo courtesy of TAGA.

The winning team was led by Mayra Mejia, president; Jacqui Luis, vice president and treasurer; Amanda Ornelas, production; Jasper Lin, design; Alan Nguyen, digital; Molly McCarthy, marketing; and Peter Schlosser, advisor. This is the first time Cal Poly has won the grand prize, the Helmut Kipphan Cup, in 10 years.

In order to compete, each student chapter submits a high-quality journal to showcase their technical papers. Papers are invited on emerging science, technology, and applications of all forms of graphic technology and printing processes, including offset, flexo, gravure, digital, inkjet, pad, and screen. The scope of the conference encompasses topics such as color management, materials, packaging, curing, process control, data management, workflow, security, nanotechnology, MEMS, electronics, and fundamental science.

“The quality of these student publications is truly impressive,” said Peter Schlosser, Cal Poly TAGA advisor and assistant professor in the Graphic Communication Department. “It’s clear that students from all teams put a considerable amount of time and energy into their work, and we are thrilled and proud that Cal Poly was recognized with the Kipphan Cup.”

Since the establishment of the TAGA Student Chapters in 1985, student chapters have produced technical publications to showcase their student research, and starting in 1993, the TAGA board of directors has given a Grand Prize Award to recognize their efforts in producing their TAGA Student Publications. Renamed in 2006 as the Helmut Kipphan Cup (after Dr. Helmut Kipphan—for his time, support, and advocacy of the TAGA Student Chapters), the award is now a traveling trophy that is presented to the school that has produced a student publication that excels in technical content, print quality, and design.

Read the most recent stories in The Link

Related Content