Cal Poly CLA News

The latest online edition of CLA's Impact Magazine

Student Awards 2016

The College of Liberal Arts has a long tradition of honoring students of excellence. In addition to university and other recognitions, the college instituted its own Outstanding Senior awards in 2014. Students receiving awards were honored at a reception on Friday, June 12. Each of the honorees below exemplifies the outstanding quality of our students at Cal Poly.

Program Cover
Download the reception program (PDF)

University Senior Recognition Awards

Service to the Community

Courtney Connor (Modern Languages and Literatures)

Contributions to the Objectives & Public Image of the University

Danielle Burton (Communication Studies) and Mehra Murad Gharibian (English; Ethnic Studies)

Contributions to the Objectives & Public Image of the College

Naomi Catterlin (English) and Eunice Kim (Communication Studies)

Academic Excellence

Sevelyn VanRonk (Child Development)


Outstanding Senior Awards

Anthropology and Geography | Hannah MacDonald

Art and Design | Amy Loschiavo

Child Development | Sevelyn VanRonk

Communication Studies | Hayley Walker

Comparative Ethnic Studies | Mario Alberto Espinoza

English | Abigail Johnson

Graphic Communication | Hannah Giorgi

History | Solange Kiehlbauch

Journalism | Jacob Lauing

Liberal Arts and Engineering Studies | Jocelyn De Leon

Modern Languages and Literatures | Blaise Skibicki

Philosophy | Regina Hurley

Political Science | Cameron Hallin

Psychology | Annabelle Parr

Sociology | Austin McLaggan

Theatre Arts | Kimberlee Vandenburg


Outstanding Graduate Student Awards

English | Savannah Kathlene Pignatelli

History | Kevin McLaren

Psychology | Dyllan Coelho

Public Policy | Nestor Veloz-Passalacqua


Cal Poly Arts Awards

Service to the Arts

Trudy Vinson (Graphic Communication)

Excellence in Original Work

Tenney Rizzo (Art and Design) and Kimberlee Vandenburg (Theatre Arts)


CLA Club Council Awards

Student of the Year 

Taylor Steinbeck (English)

Club of the Year 

CLA Ambassadors

Professor of the Year

Chris Skiles (Communication Studies)


Related Content